Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Full Rebuild Help

M

mandee

i'm only learning how to be a mechanic, but i've got a vk commodore at home it's got a black engine and everythings gone wrong. theres a million oil leaks and when i start it (although all the problems it still starts first time. bless it) it blows out heaps of smoke from the engine and the exhaust colour is a yuck dark greyie light purple.
i want to know what is wrong with it properly before i start pulling it apart.

thanks
Mandee

G

Grantis1976

Mate, there's only one way to say this...rings! If your puff'n purple / blue, its oil.

If your able to take it off the road for a few weeks, do it asap !

Your oil leaks are standard - a VK is around 18 - 23 yrs old, keep this in mind when getting the shits with it!

ALL the parts you need for a rebuild are available at Supercheap ! From gaskets, to goo, to rings, to degreaser.

Good Luck !!!

G

Grantis1976

No worries, the other option would be somewhere like Repco or autobarn.

My other thought was to get ahold of a replacment engine, rebuild it, then swap it for the current one. That way your only off the road for a day !

Good Luck !!!

M

mandee

i have noticed to that the gearbox is a bit worn, i went out and picked up a second-hand one (3 speed auto trimatic) and i want to know how to take the gear stick off.

if anyone can help, many thanks to ya's

G

Grantis1976