Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Ecotec] 3.8 swap to a 5.7

Vy3.8exec

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY 3.8 Executive
Heya! I’m new to the whole idea of car modding, in the near future I’m planning on swapping my 3.8L with a 5.7L, I’m not at all worried about price as it’ll be a work in progress, but I’m just wanting help with the list of things that would need to be swapped out or replaced.

I’m assuming gearbox, ecu, wiring looms etc etc, but what else would need to be done aswell, thanks!

Fu Manchu

We’ll get together. Have a few laughs.
Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Crewman, VZ Cross 8, & ya mum.
A written off LS powered VY SS or Calais or Statesman

With or without an engine, needs wiring harness and interior harness.

Strip yours. Swap everything over.
Have a heap of spares on hand.

the_boozer

no more VK
Reaction score
Members Ride
hilux
Forget about it, a 16 year old kid swap everything over? Im yet to see a set of mechanics get it right the first time, Finding good parts in the first place and the budget is why that happens.
You'll get bleed dry on the essentical parts you need then If you want to sell it,it will be worth bugger all as its not a factory v8. Find a good v8 and put the good parts off yours on to it.

Vy3.8exec

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY 3.8 Executive
Forget about it, a 16 year old kid swap everything over? Im yet to see a set of mechanics get it right the first time, Finding good parts in the first place and the budget is why that happens.
You'll get bleed dry on the essentical parts you need then If you want to sell it,it will be worth bugger all as its not a factory v8. Find a good v8 and put the good parts off yours on to it.