Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

2003 Holden VY Commodore Needs Help

Sukibruh

Reaction score
Members Ride
2003 Holden VY commodore S Series 2
Hello everyone,

I wanted to share my recent experience with my 2003 Holden VY Commodore S Series 2. As an international student, I made the switch from owning a Toyota to this Commodore three months ago. I was drawn to its appearance, especially since it had been modified by the previous owner with a lowered riding height, giving it a sporty look.

However, shortly after purchasing the car, I encountered several issues. Initially, the engine began overheating, leading me to seek help from a mechanic. The diagnosis was that the radiator fans were malfunctioning. Despite trying a new thermal sensor, the issue persisted until the mechanic unplugged the sensor from the engine, causing the fan to operate at full speed. Following this, the radiator started leaking, prompting me to replace it. Additionally, I noticed the car was pulling to the left side, leading to the replacement of the front wheel bearing and brake pads, which incurred a cost of over 1500 AUD.

Now, I'm facing a new problem with the exhaust emitting white smoke, and the engine starting in an unusual manner. After some research on car forums, I suspect a blown head gasket may be causing coolant to leak into the engine. With my registration due in a few days, I'm in a bit of a predicament. The ongoing repairs are becoming costly, but I'm attached to the car and hesitant to let it go.

I'd appreciate any advice or recommendations from the community regarding my situation. Thank you in advance.
IMG_20231230_171122_369~2.jpg

figjam

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
FJ
Car looks good.

As you are in QLD, you won't need a roadworthy for rego, so that is one problem not to have.