Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How much space/bandwidth does this site use?

gogoboygareth

Reaction score
Members Ride
VXII Commodore Exec
Hi all!

This one is directed towards to owner of the site... I've been a member for a while (and have made quite a few posts - well, me whinging about problems with my VXII mainly). So this post isn't someone visiting the site for some sinister purpose (i.e. to spam their wares). :)

I'm an engineer my trade, and have been doing basic web design for around 10 years (yes, seriously). I've recently begun making small websites for businesses, and have been asked to host a few of them (nothing "mission critical", just basic stuff really).

I've created a few packages for hosting (I'm officially a "reseller" as of this morning)... and the reason for this post is simply to get a feel for the "average amount of space/bandwidth" needed for a forum-based website.

I remember a mod once saying the site used about 8Gb a month - does this still stand? Or is it more than that now?

Basically my plans so far are...

Lite : 150Mb space + 5Gb bandwidth
Standard : 300Mb space + 10Gb bandwidth
Maxi : 500Mb space + 20Gb bandwidth

(everything above is subject to change, as I'm only really just starting and am trying to put together a business plan).

Note this is simply just to get a feel for *what* my plans should be providing, not as an advertisement for a small business I haven't really started yet... :) Thus, I haven't included any prices. :)

Many thanks for any info you can provide. :)

- Gareth
http://www.garethforward.com/pics/

Darren

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
www.justcommodores.com.au
Members Ride
BYD Atto 3 / RAV4 Hybrid